STATE BOARD OF ELECTION COMMISSIONERS

Secretary of State Mark Martin Chairman

Rhonda Cole Chad W. Pekron Charles Roberts J. Harmon Smith Stuart Soffer C. S. Walker Commissioners 501 Woodlane, Suite 401N Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 (501) 682-1834 or (800) 411-6996



Justin Clay Director

Gaye Swaim Deputy Director

Tim Humphries Legal Counsel

Jon Davidson
Educational Services Manager

Summary of the Repeal of the

RULES FOR VOTER IDENTIFICATION

The State Board of Election Commissioners met on June 23, 2015 and approved for public comment the repeal of the "Rules for Voter Identification". The public comment period ended on August 10, 2015. The State Board of Election Commissioners met again on October 30, 2015 to approve revisions to the "Rules for Voter Identification".

Below is a summary of the rules that were approved by the Board on June 23, 2015 for the public comment period, followed by a list of persons commenting on the rule, a summary of the comments, the agency's response to the comments, and the changes to the rules as a result of the public comments.

The repeal of these rules is necessary due to the 2014 Arkansas Supreme Court ruling that found Act 595 of 2013 (the Voter ID Act) to be unconstitutional. These rules were originally implemented in 2014 to address legislative changes from Act 595 of 2013 by establishing the procedures for processing and administering voter identification requirements.

PERSONS COMMENTING ON THE RULE

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS N/A

None

AGENCY'S RESPONSE TO COMMENTS N/A

RULE CHANGES AS A RESULT OF PUBLIC COMMENTS N/A