STATE BOARD OF ELECTION COMMISSIONERS

Secretary of State Mark Martin Chairman

Rhonda Cole Chad W. Pekron Charles Roberts J. Harmon Smith Stuart Soffer C. S. Walker Commissioners 501 Woodlane, Suite 401N Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 (501) 682-1834 or (800) 411-6996



Justin Clay Director

Gaye Swaim Deputy Director

Tim Humphries Legal Counsel

Jon Davidson
Educational Services Manager

Summary of Revisions to the

RULES FOR APPOINTMENT OF CERTIFIED ELECTION MONITORS

The State Board of Election Commissioners met on June 23, 2015 and approved for public comment revisions to the "Rules for Appointment of Certified Election Monitors". The public comment period ended on August 10, 2015. The State Board of Election Commissioners met again on October 30, 2015 to approve revisions to the "Rules for Appointment of Certified Election Monitors".

Below is a summary of the rules that were approved by the Board on June 23, 2015 for the public comment period, followed by a list of persons commenting on the rule, a summary of the comments, the agency's response to the comments, and the changes to the rules as a result of the public comments.

Initial changes include: 1) Section 1003: adding the qualification that an election monitor shall not be an elected official, an active county election commissioner, or an officer of a political party's county committee.

PERSONS COMMENTING ON THE RULE None

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS N/A

AGENCY'S RESPONSE TO COMMENTS

RULE CHANGES AS A RESULT OF PUBLIC COMMENTS N/A