STATE BOARD OF ELECTION COMMISSIONERS

Secretary of State Mark Martin Chairman

Rhonda Cole C. S. Walker Barbara McBryde Chad W. Pekron J. Harmon Smith Stuart Soffer Commissioners 501 Woodlane, Suite 401N Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 (501) 682-1834 or (800) 411-6996



Justin Clay Director

Tim Humphries
Legal Counsel

Karan Skarda Deputy Director

Summary of Revisions to the

RULES FOR NONPARTISAN JUDICIAL OFFICE FILING FEES

The State Board of Election Commissioners met on June 19, 2013 and approved for public comment revisions to the "Rules for Nonpartisan Judicial Office Filing Fees." The public comment period ended on July 23, 2013.

Staff held a public hearing on July 17, 2013 to hear additional comments and the State Board of Election Commissioners met again on August 21, 2013 to approve revisions to the "Rules for Nonpartisan Judicial Office Filing Fees" that set forth the procedure for establishing filing fees for nonpartisan offices and procedures for payment. Below is a summary of the initial revisions that were approved by the Board on June 19, 2013 for the public comment period, followed by a list of persons commenting on the rule, a summary of the comments, the agency's response to the comments, and the changes to the rules as a result of the public comments.

Initial changes include: 1) striking the term "judicial"; 2) addressing a legislative change from Act 1110 of 2013 establishing the filing fees for the office of prosecuting attorney; 3) addressing a legislative change from Act 1286 of 2013 regarding filing fees for the office of district judge; and 4) addressing a legislative change from Act 1110 of 2013 setting forth the requirement for distributing funds into the Trial Court Administrative Assistant Fund.

PERSONS COMMENTING ON THE RULE

NONE

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS
NONE

AGENCY'S RESPONSE TO COMMENTS NONE

RULE CHANGES AS A RESULT OF PUBLIC COMMENTS

NONE